About Me

dani ludwigsburg

In my German hometown of Ludwigsburg, circa 1988.

Thus far, my life has been quite the international adventure! I spent my early childhood living near Stuttgart, Germany until we moved to Sacramento, California. Growing up we spent most of our summer vacations going home to Germany and traveling around Europe.

When I got older, I studied at the beautiful University of California, Santa Barbara. During my time there, I studied abroad twice, once at the University of Sussex in Brighton, England, and then later at the Universiteit Leiden in the Netherlands. I later returned to Leiden to complete my Masters of Science degree in Political Science with a specialisation in International Relations. These experiences abroad inspired me to explore the world and lead a more global life.

394683_10100513764738177_698635665_n

Signing my name in the Leiden “Zweetkamer” after my Masters graduation in 2011.

After graduating University, I spent a few years getting work experience as a Project Management Specialist for the US Army Corps of Engineers. During this time I also became a youth group advisor and later the Youth Director for Congregation B’nai Israel where I was integral in starting the new Kesher Program, geared towards the social and educational development of all kids between 12-18 years old. Before long I realised that my part-time job working with the youth in my community was many times more fulfilling than my full-time job in project management. I decided it was time to pursue youth work and teaching as a career.

10400647_652204070687_3418_n

Attending a national convention in Washington DC with my youth group board in 2009.

I moved back to the Netherlands and started working as a Library Assistant in the American School of the Hague. This position offered me a lot of one-on-one time with the students at our school, developing their research skills and fostering a love of reading. At the same time, I also began teaching a weekly children’s krav maga class, FunFightFit. At this point, I felt my calling…teaching!

11021558_1557766191164236_1654215705821777069_o

Posing with the FunFightFit students after their first examination.

I enrolled in The College of New Jersey and earned my Masters of Education with an emphasis on International Education. I received my New Jersey Elementary Teaching Certification in January 2016. During this program, I student taught at Pace Charter School in Hamilton, New Jersey in the Upper Elementary.

I then taught at the Children’s International School in Moss, Norway. I was the homeroom teacher for PYP 4 and also taught MYP German. I currently teach as the Group 3 teacher at the International School Delft in the Netherlands, also with the IB PYP curriculum.

Teaching has been such a wonderful learning experience and exciting journey and I look forward to the many fun lessons and classes to come!

Hobbies:
Krav Maga
Reading
Cross-stitching
Swimming
Traveling
Community Involvement

Special Traits:
Fluent in English, German, Dutch (NT2 certified)
Dual citizenship with the United States and Germany

Memberships and Affiliations:
Alpha Epsilon Phi Sorority
International Baccalaureate
International Krav Maga Federation
University of California, Santa Barbara
Universiteit Leiden
The College of New Jersey
University of Sussex

For more information about me, feel free to read my Interesting Facts About Me blog post.